Star spangled performance: Orchestral Society, Chamber Choir hold patriotic concert

Published 9:15 am Thursday, July 4, 2024

Independence Day celebrations began Sunday in the River City as the Vicksburg Orchestral Society and Chamber Choir performed a patriotic concert at the Southern Cultural Heritage Center auditorium.

Sponsored by The Four Seasons of the Arts and the City of Vicksburg, Sunday’s concert was led by Warren County High School Band Director and conductor Jace McMullin, EdD and featured patriotic tunes such as “God Bless America” and “This Land is Your Land.”

Vicksburg Orchestra Society musicians include: violin players Rachael Boxill, Jacob Child, Burham Gates, Anna George, Hope George, Dawn Hess, Maddie Karr, Steve Maynord, Sandy Shugars and Dwain Taylor; viola players Tammy Luke, Mihan Taylor and Laura Walizer; cello players Cindy Scurria, David Stuart and Matthew Warren; bass player George Mason; flute players Marie Claire Allison, Tiffany Clark, Lena Erikson, Ashley Killen and Kimberly Passman; clarinet players Nancy Eidt, Christina Lance, Matthew Killen and Mateo Byrd; bass clarinet players Byrd and Cathy Wilson; oboe player Ed Gaudet; saxophone player Allison Kunz; trumpet players Hogan Allen, Elias Arrendo, Cody Salter; trombone players Jay Bennett, Larry Buckley and Silas Murrary;  horn players Trey Bennett and Charlotte Franklin; tuba players Sam Dent and Brinson Williams; and percussion players David Clark, Dorothy Hilderbrand, Gabe Hodge and John Williamson.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Vicksburg Chamber Choir vocal performers include: Director Christie Beasly, Wyn Pratt, Mary Kate Core, Margaret Owensby, Dottie-Kate McInnis, Renee Styles, Jeanie Hanks, Patricia Rickrode, Austin Crabtree, Steven Lloyd, Nathan Prewitt, Jean Santiago-Padilla, Corey Rickrode, Patrick Weaver, Eric Fowler, Brooke Herman, Cindy Fowler, Glenda Arredondo, Wanda Cook, Linda Hadala, Laurie Johnson, Leigh Miller and Jim Barber.