Bill Jeffers files for post of justice court judge

Published 12:00 am Friday, February 7, 2003

A Vicksburg Police officer has filed for candidacy for Northern District justice court judge, becoming the third candidate seeking election to that post in November.

Bill Jeffers, 35, an 11-year veteran and patrol sergeant with the Vicksburg Police Department, filed as an independent candidate for the office.

Candidates are filing for candidacy in advance of the March 1 deadline for fall elections.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The other two candidates who had filed for Northern District justice court judge, 35-year Vicksburg attorney W.B. Duggins, 75, and former Vicksburg Police officer Greg Kurtz, 36, are also running as independent candidates. Their names will not be on ballots until the Nov. 4 general election.

The incumbent in the post is Richard Smith Jr., who has not filed.

Justice courts have jurisdiction in all civil cases involving amounts of $2,500 or less. They also handle many preliminary and criminal matters from parts of the county outside the city limits, including misdemeanor cases and preliminary hearings in felony cases.

Others who have filed for candidacy for Warren County and legislative posts are:

Chancery clerk: Dot McGee, 65, Democrat.

Circuit clerk: Shelly Ashley-Palmertree, 33, Democrat; Mike Caruthers, 47, independent; Trey Miller, 36, Republican.

Central District constable: Rudolph Walker, 49, Democrat.

Northern District constable: Eddie Hoover, 38, independent; Glenn McKay, 40, Democrat.

Southern District constable: John Henry Heggins, 40, Democrat; Victor Worrell, 41, independent.

Coroner: John Thomason, 44, independent.

Central District justice court judge: Richard Bradford, 59, Democrat.

Southern District justice court judge: Joe Crevitt, 65, Democrat.

District 1 supervisor: David McDonald, 53, Republican; Michael Terry, 56, independent.

District 2 supervisor: Michael Mayfield, 44, Democrat.

District 3 supervisor: Betty Jackson, 61, independent; Charles Selmon, 43, Democrat.

District 4 supervisor: Carl Flanders, 33, independent; Reginald King, 56, independent; Bill Lauderdale, 55, independent.

District 5 supervisor: Richard George, 53, independent; Joe Wooley, 60, independent.

Tax assessor: Richard Holland, 47, Democrat.

Tax collector: Patricia Simrall, 56, Democrat.

District 54 representative: Chester Masterson, 69, Republican; Alex Monsour, 40, Republican.

District 56 representative: Jep Barbour, 41, Republican.

District 85 representative: Chuck Middleton, 43, Democrat.

District 23 senator: Mike Chaney, 59, Republican.