Days before deadline, more sign up for county seats

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 26, 2003

(2/26/03)New candidates for the offices of district attorney, county prosecutor, Northern District justice court judge and District 1 supervisor have filed qualifying papers ahead of Saturday’s deadline for fall elections.

Richard Smith Jr., 44, the current Northern District justice court judge, filed as a candidate for the office of district attorney. In private law practice in Vicksburg for nearly 10 years, Smith has served as justice court judge since 1999.

The state’s 9th Circuit Court, which he would serve if elected, includes Warren, Sharkey and Issaquena counties. The incumbent district attorney, Gil Martin, 58, has filed to seek his fourth full term.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Attorney Robert C. Arledge, 45, who ran for county and youth judge last year, filed to run for county prosecutor.

Warren County Judge Johnny Price, who defeated Arledge and others last fall, had served as county prosecutor. Supervisors appointed attorney Marcie Southerland to serve the year remaining on Price’s term, and Southerland said Monday she will not run for a four-year term.

Attorney Richard Johnson, 49, filed to run for the post after Southerland’s announcement.

In the race for justice court judge in the Northern District, Edwin Woods, 38, filed to run as a Republican. He joins Vicksburg attorney W.B. Duggins, 75; Vicksburg police officer Bill Jeffers, 35; and former Vicksburg police officer Greg Kurtz, 36, who had already filed, all as independents.

In a fourth filing, Billy Boone, 53, a manager at Morgan’s Bestway grocery store, filed as an independent for District 1 supervisor. One-term incumbent Republican David McDonald, 53, a Vicksburg businessman, and independent Michael Terry, 56, a Vicksburg funeral-service practitioner, had already filed as candidates for the post.

Offices up for election include all statewide posts, including legislative posts, and all county offices except some judgeships, election commission and school board seats.

Democratic and Republican candidates’ names will appear on ballots in Aug. 5 primaries. Runoffs, if needed, will follow weeks later.

Independent candidates advance to the Nov. 4 general election.

Others who have filed for candidacy for Warren County and legislative posts are:

Chancery clerk: Dot McGee, 65, Democrat.

Circuit clerk: Shelly Ashley-Palmertree, 33, Democrat; Mike Caruthers, 47, independent; Bertha Conner, 55, independent; Trey Miller, 36, Republican.

Central District constable: Rudolph Walker, 49, Democrat.

Northern District constable: Eddie Hoover, 38, independent; Glenn McKay, 40, Democrat.

Southern District constable: John Henry Heggins, 40, Democrat; Victor Worrell, 41, independent.

Coroner: John Thomason, 44, independent.

Central District justice court judge: Richard Bradford, 59, Democrat.

Southern District justice court judge: Joe Crevitt, 65, Democrat.

District 2 supervisor: Michael Mayfield, 44, Democrat.

District 3 supervisor: Betty Jackson, 61, independent; Charles Selmon, 43, Democrat.

District 4 supervisor: Carl Flanders, 33, independent; Reginald King, 56, independent; Bill Lauderdale, 55, independent.

District 5 supervisor: Richard George, 53, independent; Joe Wooley, 60, independent.

Tax assessor: Richard Holland, 47, Democrat.

Tax collector: Patricia Simrall, 56, Democrat.

District 54 representative: Chester Masterson, 69, Republican; Alex Monsour, 40, Republican.

District 55 representative: George Flaggs, 49, Democrat.

District 56 representative: Jep Barbour, 41, Republican.

District 85 representative: Chuck Middleton, 43, Democrat.

District 23 senator: Mike Chaney, 59, Republican.

District 36 senator: E. Vincent Davis, 39, Democrat; Lynn Posey, Democrat.

The deadline to file qualifying papers at the Warren County Courthouse is 5 p.m. Saturday.