George re-elected, Winfield back in as supervisors, others take office|[01/07/08]

Published 12:00 am Monday, January 7, 2008

The most experienced new member of the Warren County Board of Supervisors took the oath along with four fellow board members this morning, as 11 county officials were sworn in for new terms.

District 4 Supervisor Bill Lauderdale, 60, was returned to office in November after a four-year hiatus. Lauderdale served as southwest Warren County’s representative on the board for 16 years until narrowly losing to Carl Flanders in 2003. In 2007, Lauderdale emerged victorious by 43 votes over Flanders and Republican C.L. “Buddy” Hardy.

Re-elected supervisors David McDonald in District 1, William Banks in District 2, Charles Selmon in District 3 and Richard George in District 5 also took office this morning as Chancery Court Judge Vicki Barnes began the inauguration. All four had primary or general election opponents in 2007, but all won new terms.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Barnes urged supervisors to “ask for God’s guidance, because you represent all of Warren County.”

Also unchanged were the four positions appointed by supervisors, those of county administrator, board attorney, county engineer and road manager.

Attorney Paul Winfield, 34, was unanimously chosen to stay on to advise the board on legal matters. Speculation abounded in the weeks following the November election that Lauderdale’s return might also signal the return of former board counsel Randy Sherard, who served as the board attorney for 13 years until 2005. In past votes, Sherard had the support of Lauderdale, George and McDonald.

County Administrator John Smith was formally renominated after he was left off the list a year ago. Earlier last term, his role as chief budget-setter and financial officer was the subject of whether his duties should expand to personnel. County Engineer John McKee and Road Manager Richard Winans were also chosen unanimously.

George and Selmon were renominated without dissent to serve as board president and vice president, respectively. George will have the gavel for conducting the board’s meetings for the sixth time.

Also taking office officially today to start new four-year terms were Sheriff Martin Pace, Tax Collector Pat Simrall, Chancery Clerk Dot McGee, Central District Justice Court Judge Richard Bradford, Southern District Constable John Heggins and Coroner Doug Huskey.

Circuit Clerk Shelly Ashley-Palmertree, Tax Assessor Richard Holland, Central District Constable Randy Naylor and Northern District Constable Glenn McKay were sworn in during ceremonies held Jan. 2 and 3. Among them, all were incumbents except Naylor, who will serve in the post held by Rudolph Walker, who resigned last fall and did not seek re-election.