School & Youth Bulletin Board|[06/11/08]

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 11, 2008


Ruth Poe, a student at the University of Southern Mississippi from Vicksburg, has been named the recipient of the first English Speaking Union scholarship and will be allotted $1,000 to participate in the British Studies Program.Firefighter Octavian J. Gaddis of the Claiborne County Fire Department has graduated from the National Fire Protection Association 1001 Firefighter course held at the Mississippi State Fire Academy in Jackson. The six-week course included classroom and practical instruction in the areas of fire behavior and suppression, rescue, incident command and hazardous materials.Megan Demeranville, a student at Mississippi College, has been accepted into the Social Work Department and was elected treasurer for the Social Work Club. She was also named to the dean’s list. A 2006 graduate of Vicksburg High School, she is the daughter of Michael and Peggy Demeranville.Sarah Grace Sills has graduated from the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science. The daughter of David and Kathie Sills of Vicksburg, she will attend the University of Mississippi where she will study pharmacy.


Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

John C. Ingram, a student at St. Aloysius High School, has been named the 2008 recipient of the St. Michael’s College Scholarship and Service Book Award. The honor, awarded by St. Michael’s College in Vermont, recognizes National Honor Society inductees who demonstrate a commitment to volunteerism and community service leadership. He is the son of Paul and Donna Ingram.

Jonathan Ray Kline of Vicksburg has received the Noam Chomsky Award for Excellence in Psychology at Millsaps College for excellence beyond the classroom and enthusiasm for the field of psychology. He is the son of Virgie L. Kline and Johnny C. Kline.


Liza Kate Chaney, daughter of Martin and Teresa Chaney, has been inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta freshman honor society at the University of Mississippi. She was also named to the chancellor’s list for both semesters.


Former Vicksburg resident and former Jackson Mayor Harvey Johnson Jr. has donated hundreds of documents to Jackson State University to aid students and local residents researching urban and regional planning. The documents will be housed at the JSU Information Services Library in the Universities Center on Ridgewood Road.


Students from the Vicksburg Branch of the Mississippi Baptist Seminary and Bible College who participated in the college’s commencement exercises in Jackson were Willie Glasper, Elbert Cox and Geraldine McClodden, who received certificates of Biblical studies, and the Rev. Elbert O’Neal, who received a bachelor of theology.

Yolanda Burks Atkinson graduated from Alcorn State University with a master of education and endorsement in counseling during spring commencement. She received a bachelor’s degree in 2005 from ASU and is employed with the Vicksburg Warren School District. She is married to Jejuan L. Atkinson and is the daughter of Ellis and Bertha Burks, all of Utica.

Tiffany Gale Lewis of Vicksburg received a degree from Jones County Junior College in Ellisville during spring graduation exercises.

Local students who received degrees from Mississippi College during spring graduation exercises were Nikki Tayloe Cherry, Chandra Michell Cole, Lesley S. Ford, Sherry Lynn Hutson Garmon, Synette Williams Hayden, Michael Jonathan Head, Margie Lee Hearron, Tameka Denise Henderson, Megan Michelle Holland, Rebecca McElroy Hughes, Todd A. LaBiche Jr., Anthony Ray Lobred, Sean Alton Merchant, Lashunda Goodwin Murray, Carol Rebecca Pace and Robert Ellis Screws.

Theodore James McKercher has graduated magna cum laude from the University of Southern Mississippi with a double major in political science and philosophy and a minor in computer science. He was one of eight seniors to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. He completed a senior thesis as part of the Honors College criteria for graduating with Latin designation, and he also served as executive editor of the Southerner yearbook. He was a member of Southern Style official university host group and was recognized as a member of Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities. He is the son of David and Janice McKercher of Vicksburg. He is the grandson of Willie E. and Helen A. Walker of Vicksburg and Claude G. and Alene McKercher Jr. of Boise, Idaho.


Brian Holloway, a 2008 graduate of Porters Chapel Academy, has received a $500 Kiwanis Club scholarship for service to the PCA Key Club and a $1,500 4-H Scott Tractor scholarship for service to the 4-H Block and Bridle Horse Club of Warren County. He is the son of Hugh and Tara Holloway and the grandson of Bart and Donna Schreiner and Addie Mae Holloway.

Kaitlyn Ellis, a graduate of St. Aloysius High School, has received the Rotary Club of Vicksburg $3,000 scholarship. She will attend Mississippi State University, where she will major in microbiology with a minor in Mandarin Chinese. She is the daughter of Dr. Michael and Kathryn Ellis.

Anika Nicole Cummings has received a $1,000 Frederic Scholarship to Mississippi State University. A graduate of Vicksburg High School, she is the daughter of the late Sherry Marie Barnes.


Maranda A. Younger, a 2007 graduate of Vicksburg High School, has been named a Presidential Scholar at Alcorn State University. She is the daughter of Roscoe and Dr. Dylinda Wilson Younger and the granddaughter of the Rev. and Mrs. F.W. Wilson and the late Mr. and Mrs. Roscoe Younger Sr.

Randy Young of Vicksburg has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at the University of Louisiana at Monroe. He is the son of L’Tannya Young and the late Randy Young. He is the grandson of Laura Taylor and the late Willie Taylor and Perry Young and the late Mary Young.

Local students named to the president’s list for the spring semester at the University of Southern Mississippi were Brittany Starla Breazeale, Telia Elizebeth Brewer, Holly Marie Duke, Miles Aaron Dunbar, Shaundari Monique Minor, Lakena Nakiel Wiggins, Erin Lynn Wojtala and Millie Elizabeth Worthington. Those named to the spring dean’s list were John Zachary Booth, Kristin Nicole Crist, Kimberly Marie Danczyk, Betty Jo Deck, Mary Myers Franco, Mary Katherine Gwin, Miranda Sara-Anderson Hunt, Victoria Nicole Martin, Maggie Elizabeth Pikul, Ruth Elizabeth Poe, Shannon R. Price, Vincent Ray Price, Mark Lee Redd, Rachel Marie Ross, Tericka Ashley Selmon, Amanda M. Smith, Tracy Amber Taylor and Beth Marie Williams.


Juneteenth Observance Youth Speak-Out – 6-8 p.m. June 19, Environmental Village Campus in Hermanville; open mic for students and young adults to recite poetry, essays or raps; prizes, graduate tribute, music, refreshments, more; Harold E. Charles, 601-535-7551.

Southern Drama Kids – Performing arts classes for ages 12-18; 3:45-5 p.m. each Tuesday, Aug. 19-December; Southern Cultural Heritage Center auditorium; $50 per student; presented by the Southern Cultural Heritage Foundation and Vicksburg Theatre Guild.