Business Portfolio

Published 12:00 am Sunday, October 12, 2008

City native executive of Y in Knoxville

Vicksburg native Buster Brasfield has been named executive director for the Downtown Knoxville branch of the YMCA of East Tennessee.

Brasfield takes over a historic branch of the organization built in 1929 and recently restored as part of a $3 million renovation.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

A 1978 graduate of Warren Central High School, Brasfield has served in various positions at YMCA branches in Clinton and in Memphis, as well as Glen Ellyn, Ill., Milan, Tenn., Clearwater, Fla., and Evansville, Ind.

He began his YMCA career in Vicksburg under the direction of Herb Wilkinson and Mike Jackson.

IP names manager for power business unit

Danny Long has been named power business unit manager for International Paper’s Vicksburg mill.

An IP employee since 1972, Long will be responsible for power department operations, including safety, productivity, operating budget and engagement, and more.

Long began at the Texarkana mill and transferred to the Mansfield, La., mill in 1981, most recently working as area power utilities manager at the central Louisiana mill.

Long and his wife, Charlotte, have two children and two grandchildren.

Four qualify to seek two seats on PERS board

Four people have qualified to run for one of two available seats on the 10-member board of the Public Employee Retirement System of Mississippi.

Candidates are Petal City Clerk Jean Ishee, Madison Fire Chief Thomas J. Lariviere, Monticello Police Chief David Stanley and Southaven City Administrator Chris Wilson.

The PERS board is composed of a gubernatorial appointee, the state treasurer, two retirees, two state employees and one representative each of public schools and community colleges, Institutions of Higher Learning, counties and municipalities. Except for the gubernatorial appointee and the state treasurer, board members serve staggered, six-year terms on the panel elected by members of the state’s retirement system.

Municipal employees who are members have until Oct. 15 to choose one of the four candidates, each of whom has been a member for at least 10 years.

Those eligible to vote may do so via mail, telephone or the Internet.

Oct. 15 is also qualifying deadline for IHL employees interested in the seat vacated by the retirement of Dr. Richard C. Miller.

Any IHL employee with 10 years in either PERS or the Optional Retirement Plan may qualify by filing petitions signed by at least 25 IHL employees. The deadline for voting is Dec. 8. If no candidate receives a majority of votes cast in either race, a runoff will he held between the top two vote-getters.

The term runs through Dec. 31, 2010.

Homebuyers fair set in Port Gibson Oct. 21

A fair targeting prospective homebuyers is set for Oct. 21 in Port Gibson.

The Mississippi Home Corporation, Rural Community Development Corporation, AJFC Community Action Agency and the Claiborne County Board of Supervisors will host the event, open to the public and aimed at those interested in buying homes in Claiborne County.

Organizers will provide participants information about the benefits of homeownership and the home-buying process.

Hours will be from 3 until 7 p.m. at the facility at the Claiborne County Multi-Purpose Building, 1203 Bridewell Lane.

Anyone interested in the upcoming homebuyer fair or who wishes to learn more about the Mississippi Home Corporation may contact MHC at 1-800-544-6960 or RRDC president and CEO Clarence Scutter at 601-218-1164.