Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 4, 2008

McCain, Wicker, Cochran and Thompson win in Warren

James E. Stirgus Jr. swept to a seat on the Vicksburg Warren School District Board of Trustees, outpolling District 3 incumbent Betty Jean Tolliver in voting Tuesday. Former Vicksburg Mayor Joe Loviza came out on top in a three-person race to fill the District 4 seat vacated by Jan Daigre, who did not seek re-election.

Stirgus, a former bank executive, took 1,541 votes to Tolliver’s 1,362. Tolliver is a social worker with the Mississippi Department of Human Services.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

In District 4, Loviza, who was mayor for one term and is a retired educator, outpolled student and educator Katrina R. Johnson and land surveyor Kimble Slaton. Loviza had 1,414 votes; Johnson, 1,281; and Slaton, 939.

In the presidential election, Warren County went to John McCain by 451 votes out of 19,649 total votes. In the Senate races, the county voted with the state in choosing Republicans Roger Wicker and Thad Cochran.

In the 2nd District race for the U.S. House of Representatives, incumbent Bennie Thompson was handily re-elected and for only the second time carried Warren County.

Read more Wednesday in the print editon of The Vicksburg Post.