Local medical facility launches new department|Business portfolio

Published 12:00 am Sunday, November 9, 2008

Promise Hospital of Vicksburg has launched a physician relations and education department. Leading it will be Michael Harrell.

Harrell had served Promise Hospital since 2004 as a registered nurse, infection control coordinator and case manager.

Founded in 2003, the 35-bed Promise Hospital is located at 1111 N. Frontage Road. For information, contact Harrell at 601-883-3445 or mharrell@promisehealthcare.com. The Promise Hospital Web site is www.promise-vicksburg.com.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

PERS tells plans for two elections

The Mississippi Public Employees’ Retirement System has set a runoff and a special election to fill two spots on its 10-member board of trustees.

In the runoff, Jean Ishee, Petal city clerk, and Thomas J. Lariviere, Madison fire chief, will compete for the municipal employees representative post. Ballots were mailed Monday to municipal employees who are PERS members. They can vote by telephone, online or by mail. The deadline is 5 p.m. Dec. 8.

In the special election, six candidates are competing for the spot vacated by the retirement of Dr. Richard C. Miller, who had served as Institutions of Higher Learning representative since 1993.

The candidates are:

* Dennis Bullard of Oxford, manager of installations for the University of Mississippi Telecommunications Center;

* Dr. Cecil L. Hill of Jackson, assistant professor of accounting at Jackson State University;

* Clayton H. Jones of Oxford, director of human resources and contractual services for the University of Mississippi;

* Dr. William A. “Billy” Morehead of Cleveland, chair of accountancy, CIS and finance at Delta State University;

* Dr. Joseph S. Paul of Hattiesburg, vice president for student affairs and assistant professor of educational leadership at the University of Southern Mississippi;

* Nora Roberts Miller of Columbus, vice president of finance and administration at Mississippi University for Women.

Candidates’ biographies, personal statements and ballot information were mailed Monday to eligible IHL employees. They can vote by telephone, online or by mail. The deadline is 5 p.m. Dec. 8. If no candidate receives a majority of votes, a run-off between the top two will be scheduled.

The PERS Board of Trustees is made up of 10 members — a gubernatorial appointee, the state treasurer, two retirees, two state employees, and one representative each of public schools and community colleges, Institutions of Higher Learning, counties and municipalities. With the exception of the gubernatorial appointee and state treasurer, members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

For information, visit www.pers.state.ms.us or call 800-444-7377.

We welcome your news about achievements by area employees. Submit items by e-mail (newsreleases@vicksburgpost.com), postal service (P.O. Box 821668, Vicksburg, MS 39182), fax (634-0897) , or delivered in person to 1601-F N. Frontage Road by Wednesday for publication Sunday. Be sure to include your name and phone number.