Charles Haseeb Abraham Sr.

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Charles Haseeb Abraham Sr. died Sunday, Dec. 14, 2009, at University Medical Center in Jackson. He was 79.

Mr. Abraham was born March 11, 1929, in Vicksburg to Haseeb and Maggie Habeeb Abraham, now deceased.

He graduated from Vicksburg schools and enrolled at Millsaps College in Jackson before being called into military service. Later he enrolled at the University of Mississippi, where he graduated with a degree in business administration.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

In Vicksburg, he opened Charles’ Department Store in 1953, which he operated in two locations on Washington Street until he retired in 2002.

Mr. Abraham was a founding director of the Vicksburg Housing Authority and for the past 22 years served as board chairman. He was a director of First National Bank, later Trustmark, was an advisory board member of Hinds Community College, a member of Vicksburg Main Street, a past president of the Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Vicksburg Kiwanis and Rotary clubs.

He was a member of St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church, serving on the parish council and as chairman of the council several terms.

Survivors include his wife, Jeanette Thomas Abraham; three daughters, Charlene A. Davis (Robert) of Madison, Suzanne A. Hull (Greg) of Vicksburg and Maggie A. Collins (Kevin) of Madison; two sons, Chuck Abraham (Terri) of Las Vegas and David T. Abraham of Jacksonville, Fla.; nine grandchildren, Chase, Christian and Elizabeth Abraham; Haylee, Hannah, Meredith and Maddie Hull; and Kristen and Blake Collins; and three sisters, Betty Demetree (Jack) of Jacksonville, Fla., Frances Thomas of Vicksburg and Laraine Panzone (Doug) of Jackson.

Visitation will be this evening from 5 until 7 at Riles Funeral Home with Trisagion Prayers at 7 p.m.

The funeral service will be at 10 a.m. Thursday at St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church with the Very Rev. John Morris, pastor, officiating. Burial will follow at Cedar Hill Cemetery.

Pallbearers will be Gregory Thomas, Lee Thomas Jr., Lane Glaze, Mark Demetree, Jay Demetree, Chris Demetree, Douglas Panzone Jr. and Doug Panzone.

Honorary pallbearers will be Leo Boolos, George Nasif, Charles Jones, Jim Stirgus, David Ellis, Rickey Mitchell, Bobby Parker, Alex Habeeb, Robert Morrison, Oren Bailess, Pete Buttross, Paul Boolos, Todd Boolos, Tim Boolos, Charles Haddad, Kenneth Glaze, George Haraku, Jack Demetree, Dr. Fred Habeeb, Charlie Mitchell, Bobby Doyle and Sid Beauman.

Memorials may be made to St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church, 2709 Washington St., Vicksburg, MS 39180.