2009 Vicksburg High Athletic Awards

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 7, 2009

Vicksburg High School 2008-09 Athletic awards

Athlete of the year

Male     Bowen Woodson

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Female    Diari Gilliam


Offensive MVP    Les Lemons

Most outstanding offensive back    Jeremy Hamlin

Most improved offensive back    Antonio Norfort

Most outstanding receiver    Rodney Beacham

Most outstanding off. lineman    Jarvis Holmes

Most improved offensive lineman    Tre Haas

Most improved offensive player    Trey Prentiss

Defensive MVP    Carlos Williams

Most outstanding def. player    Anthony Addison

Most improved def. lineman    Emmanuel Lofton

Most outstanding linebacker    Williams Henderson

Most improved linebacker    Jarvis Jones

Most outstanding def. back    Malcolm Butler

Most improved defensive back    Harold Pickett

Most improved defensive player    Marcus Allen

Special teams award    Patrick Parker

Academic award    Cameron Smith

Gator Award    Kurt Cooksey

Offensive Coca-Cola Award    Les Lemons

Defensive Coca-Cola Award    Carlos Williams


Best heavyweight lifter    Emmanuel Lofton

Most valuable lifter    Jeremy Hamlin, Kalum Martin

Most improved powerlifter    Marcus Allen

Cross country

Boys team captain    Paul Velazquez

Girls team captain    Allison East

Boys improved    Kyle Davidson

Girls most improved    Shelby Wright

Boys most valuable runner    Caleb White

Girls most valuable runner    Taylor Thomason

Boys Gator Award    Williams Brokaw

Girls Gator Award    Callie Grey

Boys track

Most improved    Donnie Hamlin

Most valuable    Colby Smith

Most outstanding field participant    Carlos Williams

Gator Award    Demond Calvin, Malcolm Butler

Outstanding relay participants    Malcolm Butler,     Demond Calvin, Donnie Hamlin, Colby Smith

Boys soccer

MVP    Bowen Woodson

Most improved player    Jordan Watson

Best offensive player    Ryan Ferrington

Best defensive player    Brian Fitzgerald

Gator Award    Patrick Parker

Girls soccer

MVP    Kelli Brewer

Best off. player    Rebecca Wilson, Diari Gilliam

Best defensive player    Melanie McCaskill

Gator Award    Callie Grey

Dennis Mlakar Scholarship    Rebecca Wilson

Slow-pitch softball

MVP    Kelli Brewer

Most improved player    Tira Erwin

Best offensive player    Lea Davies

Best defensive player    Claire Ray

Gator Award    Kierra Young

Fast-pitch softball

MVPs    Kristi Shelby, Claire Ray

Most improved player    Tira Erwin

Best offensive player    Claiborne Bryant

Best defensive player    Julianna Jones

Gator Award    Rebekah Conerly

Rookie of the year    Blake DeRossette


MVP    Brian Fitzgerald

Best off. player    Bowen Woodson, Blake Hynum

Best def. player    Ryan Ferrington, Trey Prentiss

Most improved player    Tyler Temple

Gator Award    Kurt Coooksey

Cy Young Award    Blake Tarnabine

Girls basketball

All-county    Kamiko Martin, Donyeah Mayfield, Alexus Stirgus

All-district    Donyeah Mayfield

Rookie of the year    Antoinette Mayfield

Certificates of participation    Kamiko Martin, Cortni Cooper, Ariel Warren, Eugenia Burks, Shaniqua Butler, Shayla Connor, Ebony Martin, Alexus Stirgus, Donyeah Mayfield, Shanequa Hill, Alexis Hall, Princess Palmer, Antoinette Mayfield, Shavadrea Farris

Boys basketball

Rookie of the year    Dominique Brown

Best defensive player    Darius Williams

Best rebounder    Denzell Erves

Most improved player    Christopher Miller

Gator Award    Mychal Ammons

MVPs    Kelsey Howard, Maurice Williams


Girls most points    Emily Sluis

Girls most improved swimmer    Elizabeth Rayfield

Boys most points    Perry Wolfe

Boys most improved swimmer    Christopher Campbell

Girls Gator Award    Elizabeth Rayfield

Boys Gators Award    William Jared Harvey


Boys most improved player    Jonathan Rashed

Boys MVP    Michael Rohrer

Gator Award    Hayden Quimby

Girls most improved player    Victoria East

Girls MVP    McMilland Crevitt

Rookie of the year    Brandon Beck


Boys Gator Award    Darius Valentine

Girls Gator Award    Grace Ga-as

Boys MVP    Donald Brown, Perry Tolliver

Girls MVP    Catherine Figueroa, Christine Figueroa

Basketball cheerleaders

Most valuable cheerleader    Rocio Aguilera

Gator Award    Whitley Carpenter

Most spirit    Dawntae Wynn

Football cheerleaders

Academic    Jazmyne Clyde

Gator Award    Leashleigh Anderson

Most outstanding base    Julianna Jones, Mary Quinn DeRossette

Most outstanding flyer    Maya Garnett

Best spot    Jazmyne Clyde

Most spirit    Grace Ga-as

Most valuable cheerleader    Claiborne Bryant

Three-year manager    Kristi Shelby

Gator Girls

Academic award    Monica Igbokwe

Gator Girl leadership award    Monica Igbokwe

Most spirited Gator Girl    Dawntae Wynn