John Wayne Jabour

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, January 26, 2010

John Wayne Jabour died Monday, Jan. 25, 2010, at River Region Medical Center. He was 67.

A lifetime resident of Vicksburg, Mr. Jabour received his Bachelor of Business Administration and Juris Doctorate degrees from the University of Mississippi before returning to Vicksburg to continue the family business. He was owner of The Hub men’s clothing store, which was started by his father in 1933.

With his wife, he owned Lakemont antebellum home and was active in the Vicksburg Pilgrimage. He was on the Board of Directors of the Miss Mississippi Pageant. He served as chairman of the NRoute board and chairman of the Vicksburg Convention and Visitors Bureau, and he was a member of the Vicksburg Jaycees, Rotary Club, Warren County and Mississippi Bar Association. He was a member and vestryman at The Church of the Holy Trinity, Episcopal.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

He was preceded in death by his father, Mike Jabour.

He is survived by his wife, Rebecca Taylor Jabour; his children, John Taylor Jabour of Oxford and Lauren Jabour Coulon of Jackson; his mother, Azizie Thomas Jabour of Vicksburg; his sisters, Michele Farr of Cornwall on the Hudson, N.Y., and Pam Mayfield of Vicksburg; and other relatives, including David Coulon of Jackson.

Services will be at 2 p.m. Wednesday at The Church of the Holy Trinity, Episcopal, with the Rev. Michael Nation officiating. Visitation will be from 5 until 8 tonight at Glenwood Funeral Home and at 1 p.m. Wednesday at the church. Burial will be at Cedar Hill Cemetery.

Pallbearers will be Mack Varner, Dr. George Abraham, Dr. Bobby Abraham, Bobby Bailess, Dan Waring, Louis Field, Bill Monsour, Lee Davis Thames, Bill Bost and Jerry Mayfield.

Honorary pallbearers will be Dr. Johnny Farr, Dr. Jerry Olsen, Joe Battalio, Freddy Abraham, Dr. Briggs Hopson, John Edgar Johnson, David Blackledge, Joe Meyers, Lealon Garrison and the Firemen of the Constitution Firehouse.

Memorials may be made to The Church of the Holy Trinity, Episcopal, 900 South St., Vicksburg, MS 39180 or to the United Leukodystrophy Foundation, 2304 Highland Drive, Sycamore, IL  60178.