Barbour seeks more aid for Warren, Issaquena counties

Published 3:36 pm Tuesday, May 4, 2010

JACKSON — Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour said Tuesday he has requested federal assistance for three more counties affected by a massive tornado on April 24.

Barbour said he’s seeking public assistance for local governments in Warren, Issaquena and Monroe counties. If approved, the counties could receive federal funding for debris removal and repair of infrastructure.

Attala, Choctaw, Holmes and Yazoo counties have already been approved for federal public assistance.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

A news release from Barbour’s office said that all counties qualifying for individual assistance have been approved. They are Oktibbeha, Monroe, Union, Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo counties.