No opponents in circuit, chancery, county races

Published 12:28 am Saturday, May 8, 2010

Vicksburg’s circuit, chancery and county judges picked up no opposition by a 5 p.m. deadline Friday for the Nov. 2 general election.

Isadore Patrick and M. James Chaney are alone on the list of candidates for the two 9th Circuit Court subdistricts, covering Warren, Issaquena and Sharkey counties. Vicki Roach Barnes is unopposed in the 9th Chancery Court, Place 3. Chancery cases in the district are also heard in Greenville and Indianola.

Patrick, on the bench since 1989, became the senior judge upon former judge Frank Vollor’s retirement last year. Chaney was appointed to the seat by Gov. Haley Barbour.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

In the state Court of Appeals District 2 race, incumbent Judge Tyree Irving faces Vicksburg attorney Ceola James, who qualified for the seat in April.

James was chancery judge for the 9th District’s Greenville seat from 1999 to 2002 and, earlier, sat as justice court judge for Warren County’s Southern District. Irving was first elected to the appellate court in 1998. The district covers all or part of 25 counties from Tunica to Jefferson, including Warren.

Warren County Judge Johnny Price Jr. picked up no opposition through Friday. Price, also the judge in Youth Court, was first elected in 2002.

Judicial elections in Mississippi are nonpartisan. Primary races on Warren County ballots June 1 will decide the Republican nod for the 2nd Congressional District. Three vie for the nomination, Bill Marcy, of Meridian, George Bailey, of Clinton, and Richard Cook, of Byram. The winner faces U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson in the general election.