Absentee voting available on Saturdays

Published 12:14 pm Thursday, May 20, 2010

Absentee ballots for the June 1 congressional primary may be cast in the Warren County Circuit Clerk’s office from 8 a.m. until noon the next two Saturdays.

The office also is open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Voters in the 2nd Congressional District will choose a Republican nominee from a three-candidate field of Bill Marcy, Richard Cook and George Bailey. A runoff election will be June 22 if no candidate receives a majority of votes.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson, D-Miss., is unopposed in the Democratic primary and is assured of advancing to the Nov. 2 general election. The district covers all or part of 23 counties, from Tunica to Jefferson counties along the Mississippi River. It also includes most of Jackson and stretches to Attala County on its eastern boundary.

Warren County voters will have one contested judicial race on the November ballot, State Court of Appeals District 2. Incumbent Judge Tyree Irving faces Vicksburg attorney Ceola James.

Both of Warren County’s circuit court judgeships and its chancery court slot are uncontested in November.

Circuit judges M. James Chaney and Isadore Patrick and Chancellor Vicki Roach Barnes all were lone qualifiers in their respective elections.