Bulletin Board

Published 11:20 pm Saturday, June 26, 2010


• Hunter Johnson, a student at St. Aloysius High School, has been awarded the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award by the University of Rochester for excellence in science and high standardized test scores in science and math. He is the son of Valeria and Bud Johnson.


Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

• Dorothy Lee of Utica, formerly of Vicksburg, has graduated with a 4.0 grade-point average from Hinds Community College, where she received a paralegal degree. She is the daughter of Johnnie Lee of Utica and the late Bill Lee.

• Amanda L. Norris of Vicksburg has received a Master of Divinity degree in theological studies from Boston University.

• Jamaal James received a Master of Science degree in biology with distinction from Alcorn State University conducted through a bridge program with Pennsylvania State University. He conducted research for his thesis on breast cancer at PSU, where he has received a full scholarship to enroll in the Molecular Medicine Program. He also received the Bunton Waller Graduate Award. He is the son of Ceola James and the grandson of the late Alean and Willis Ross Sr. of Vicksburg.

Honor rolls

• Lindsay Rae Smith of Vicksburg has been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Baylor University in Waco, Texas.

• Area students named to the spring semester president’s list at Mississippi State University were Laura A. Burton and John S. Nott, both of Bentonia; Tina J. Benton of Utica; Kaitlyn M. Ellis of Port Gibson; and Meagan L. Cargile, Fatima A. Chase, Emily B. Clarke, Rachel C. Clarke, Emily J. Coker, Crystal D. Davidson, Haley A. Davis, Joshua L. Dixon, Joseph H. Farrar, Carley W. Gautreaux, Ryan C. Grey, Hannah E. Hendrix, Eric M. Holland, Malcolm J. Huell, Myreekah P. Jackson, Ann A. Jones, Marianne J. Kerut, Sarah E. Kerut, Brittany A. Kolb, Megan J. Liddell, Katherine C. McKnight, Clea McLemore, Tiffany C. Miller, Nisha P. Patel, Raymond E. Perrier, Christian C. Price, Steven Price, Blake L. Purvis, Mary C. Scurria, Sarah C. Shelton, Kiefer D. Slaton, Marchella M. Thomas, Julie R. Waddle, Timothy W. Warren, Parker A. White, Lindsey A. Williams and Benjamin T. Wing, all of Vicksburg. Those named to the spring dean’s list were Christopher T. Opiela of Utica; Daniel W. Berryhill, Elizabeth A. Hannis and Harry L. Hawkins, all of Port Gibson; and Lynda F. Akers, Joseph M. Battalio, Jonathan C. Brown, Heather M. Calnan, Kayla E. Childress, Casey M. Cook, Justin T. Fisher, Andrea N. Harrison, James J. Herzog, Haley M. Jones, Justin M. Liddell, David P. McInnis, Leah M. McMahon, Lindsey D. McMahon, Angelique Moffett, John A. Patterson, Timothy E. Phillips, Jacob E. Pierce, Kimberly D. Ragsdale, Eric C. Richards, Leigh A. Ross, Roger D. Smithhart, Richard H. Waites and Eva A. Watson, all of Vicksburg.


• Donald Brown, a 2010 graduate of Vicksburg High School, has received the Vicksburg Civitan Club Scholarship after entering a written speech contest held annually by the local club.