David Hunt Dabney

Published 12:03 pm Tuesday, July 27, 2010

David Hunt Dabney died Monday, July 26, 2010, at home after a brief illness. He was 67 years old.

David was born Oct. 13, 1942, and lived most of his life in Vicksburg. He attended Vicksburg elementary schools and later The Webb School in Bell Buckle, Tenn. He attended Emory College in Georgia and graduated from Mississippi State University with a degree in business administration.

A lover of fine antiques and elegance, David was co-owner of the historic Martha Vick House, a popular tourist attraction and favorite venue for parties and receptions.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

David is survived by his partner of 37 years, William Arthur Longfellow; his sister, Eloise Dabney Lautier de Varona of Gulf Breeze, Fla.; his feline companion, Orangey Louise; and numerous nieces, nephews, grand-nieces, grand-nephews and other family members.

He was preceded in death by his parents, Frederick Yeamans Dabney and Eloise Walne Dabney; and his sister, Mary Dabney Nicholls.

A past president of the Vicksburg-Warren Humane Society, David was also a member of the Vicksburg Foundation for Historic Preservation, Southern Cultural Heritage Foundation, Vicksburg Art Association and The Church of the Holy Trinity, Episcopal.

Services will be Wednesday, July 28, at 2 p.m. at The Church of the Holy Trinity with Father Michael Nation officiating. Burial will follow at Cedar Hill Cemetery. Visitation will be Wednesday from noon until 2 p.m. in Clifton McInnis Parish Hall. Friends are invited to the Martha Vick House after burial.

Pallbearers will be Jack Conway, Dick Ferguson, Trip Hadad, Frank Harrison, Herb Jones, Bob Pickett, Gen. Thomas Sands and Harry Sharp.

Honorary pallbearers will be Leo Boolos, Bryan Brabston, Eustace Conway, Ed Hands, Don Jarrett, Ted Levi, Jean-Pierre Schweitzer-Lagesse, William Shappley, Dick Walne and Dr. Murray Whitaker.

Memorials may be made to The Church of the Holy Trinity, Episcopal, or to the Vicksburg-Warren Humane Society.