Rainy skies expected for election

Published 12:04 pm Monday, November 1, 2010

Polls open statewide at 7 a.m. Tuesday for this year’s general election for Congress, school board and justice court and the state appellate court.

Rain chances for Election Day are at 90 percent, with highs around 72, according to the National Weather Service. Rain remains in the forecast through Thursday.

Topping the ballot in Warren County’s 22 precincts and several area counties is the race for Mississippi’s 2nd Congressional District, where 17-year incumbent U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson faces Republican Bill Marcy and Reform Party candidate Ashley Norwood. The Delta-based district covers parts of 23 counties along the Mississippi River from Tunica to Jefferson and stretches east to Attala.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The race hasn’t been forecast to be nearly as dicey for Thompson as his fellow Democrats, who are predicted to lose their majority in the House of Representatives. Marcy established a campaign base in Warren County this summer.

Rolls show 30,401 people are registered to vote in Warren County, a gain of 95 people since the June primaries but nearly 18 percent fewer on the rolls than two years ago when a record number of ballots were cast here.

Two seats are open on the Vicksburg Warren School District Board of Trustees, with one contested. District 1 Trustee Jerry Boland is opposed by Bryan Pratt, who lost a close race to Boland six years ago. In District 5, Sally Bullard is unopposed for the post vacated by Tommy Shelton.

Seven candidates are running for justice court in Warren County’s city-based central district — incumbent judge and funeral director James E. Jefferson Jr.; Vicksburg Police Sgt. Beverly Prentiss; retired police Lt. Dora Smith; former constable Rudolph Walker; former U.S. Navy officer Henry Phillips; NRoute operations manager Audrey Jones Jackson; and Lester R. Smith.

For Mississippi Court of Appeals judge in District 2, incumbent Tyree Irving is challenged by Vicksburg attorney Ceola James. Warren is among 24 counties deciding the winner in the race.

Circuit Court judges Isadore Patrick and M. James Chaney and Chancellor Vicki Roach Barnes appear unopposed for their respective posts in Circuit District 9, which covers Warren, Issaquena and Sharkey counties, and Chancery District 9, which includes those plus Humphreys, Sunflower and Washington counties. Also unopposed this year is County Court Judge Johnny Price.

Additional races in Claiborne County include three contests for spots on the school board and election commissioner in District 5. For District 1 school board, incumbent Johnny Brown is opposed by Gwendolyn D. Lucas and Judy Banks Whitehead. Janice Walker-Gray is unopposed in District 2, as is Jimmy L. Curry in District 4. Dewayne Thomas is also unopposed for the election commission post.

In Sharkey, voters will also choose a board member for the South Delta School District 4 seat, where Dorsey Johnson is opposed by Deborah Williams. Paul Cappel Hollis is unopposed for the county’s seat on the Board of Mississippi Levee Commissioners.