Dorothy Opal Thrash

Published 11:40 am Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Dorothy Opal “Dot” Thrash died Tuesday, Dec. 7, 2010, at River Region Medical Center. She was 80.

Born in Lena, Miss., she was a former resident of Greenville and had been a resident of Vicksburg since 2004.

Mrs. Thrash was the daughter of the late James Lamar Laney and Emma Victoria Kelly Laney and the widow of Oliver “Snooks” Stribbling Thrash. She was a loving and devoted wife, mother, grandmother and great-grandmother.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Mrs. Thrash was a former member of Emmanuel Baptist Church in Greenville and, at the time of her death was a member of Highland Baptist Church where she was a member of the Bethany Sunday school class.

She is survived by a daughter, Deborah “Debbie” Bennett (Charlie) of Vicksburg; two sons, Jerry Thrash (Gail) of Clinton and James Oliver Thrash (Teresa) of Owensboro, Ky.; five grandchildren, Jennifer Bennett Prudhomme, Jason Bennett, Jerrie Ann Thomas, Lauren Roby and Shea Thrash; five great-grandchildren, Eli Prudhomme, Jon-Luc Prudhomme, Case Parker Thomas, Ella Reese Thomas and Kerigan Roby; one sister, Hilda Cheatham (Bobby) of Philadelphia, Miss.; and two brothers, James Rudolph Laney (Christine) of Greenville and Rudon Laney (Margaret) of New Albany.

In addition to her parents and husband, she was predeceased by a grandson, Jeffrey Bennett; and a sister, Anita Faye Laney.

Services will be at 10 a.m. Friday at Highland Baptist Church with the Rev. Brian Ivey, pastor of Highland Baptist Church, officiating. Burial will be at the Ocobla Cemetery in Philadelphia at 2 p.m. Friday. Visitation will be at Riles Funeral Home from 5 until 7 p.m. Thursday and at Highland Baptist Church from 9:30 a.m. Friday until the service.

Pallbearers will be Jason Bennett, Shea Thrash, Neal Thomas, David Prudhomme, Shane Roby, Robert Cheatham, Charles Laney, Phillip Laney, Randy Laney and Trey Stevens.

Memorials may be made to Alzheimer’s Association, Mid Mississippi Chapter, 1900 Dunbarton Drive, Suite H, Jackson MS 39216; the American Heart Association, P.O. Box 16808, Jackson, MS 39236; and to Gideon’s International, Vicksburg Camp, P.O. Box 821712, Vicksburg, MS 39182.