Democratic runoffs set in Sharkey, Claiborne

Published 11:38 am Thursday, August 4, 2011

One Democratic Party runoff each is set for Aug. 23 in Sharkey and Claiborne counties.

In Sharkey County, District 2 Supervisor Leroy Smith Jr., who received 43 percent of the votes cast in Tuesday’s primary, will face incumbent Supervisor Melvin Jones, who received 38 percent. C.P. Clay trailed the two with 19 percent. The winner will face independents Ellis Stuart, Christopher Booker and Eugene Lane Jr. in the general election on Nov. 8.

The runoff for Claiborne County’s sheriff’s race will be between incumbent Frank Davis, who was first elected in 1979, and Marvin E. Lucas. Each received 45 percent of the vote. Calvin Lewis, received 9 percent of the votes.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

In Sharkey County, Supervisor Bill Newson took District 1, Supervisor Samuel Matthews took District 3 and Supervisor Willie Smith took District 5. Supervisor Willie Smith won his party’s primary and will face independents Mose Robinson and Melvin Young in the general election.

For the open District 4 seat, Tommy Ewing won and will face independents James Bolden, King T. Evans Jr., Ray Duke Sr. and Jimmy Holmes in the general election.

Sheriff Lindsey Adams Jr. won his primary and will face independent Winford Nash in November.

Both incumbent justice court judges won in their primary contest.

Post 1 went to Treves Cooper and Post 2 to Clark Secoy.

Terrance Alford took Constable Post 1 and Murindia Williams will remain the circuit and chancery clerk.

In Claiborne County, those voted out of office were Superintendent of Education Dr. Annie Kilcrease, District 2 Supervisor Michael “Pop” Wells, District 3 Supervisor Mott Headly Jr. and District 5 Supervisor Charles Shorts.

For superintendent of education, the Rev. Elijah Coach Brown will face independent “DR JO” Ann Collins Smith in November.

In District 2, Charlie “Chuck” Norrell Sr. will face independent Tommy Lee King.

Edwin Smith won the District 3 seat and Daniel Porter took District 5’s seat.

In District 1, Supervisor Allen Burks won and will face independent Tammy Lightfoot Harris in November.

For District 4, incumbent Supervisor Ronald Shoulders won and will face Nora Grigsby Turner.

Incumbent Jimmy Ellis won the western district for justice court. Incumbent Eastern District Justice Court Judge Daniel Lucas won the primary and will face independent Stella Neal Moore.

Winners for constables were incumbent Western District Constable Roosevelt Dotson and incumbent Eastern District Constable Edward “Moose” Goods. Goods will face Richard Moore in November.

Running unopposed were Circuit Clerk Sammie Good, Chancery Clerk Gloria Dotson, County Prosecutor Michael Keyton, County Surveyor Grady Wayne Anderson, Coroner J.W. Mallett and Tax Assessor/Collector Diane Davaul.