Shirlye K. Stahl

Published 11:38 am Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Shirlye K. Stahl died Monday, Sept. 5, 2011, at River Region Medical Center.

Born on May 10, 1924, in Baltimore, Md., she was the daughter of the late Elmer Leroy Ketchum and Martha Leona Burton Ketchum. She attended Sidwell Friends and Holton Arms Academy. She later graduated from Marjorie Webster Finishing School in Silver Spring, Md.

In 1946, she married John Francis Stahl Sr. of New Orleans, moving to Vicksburg in 1949.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Mrs. Stahl was active in supporting the Warren County-Vicksburg Public Library, where she was president of the Friends of the Library for a number of years. She served as a member of the Mississippi Library Commission.

Mrs. Stahl became a member of the Junior Auxiliary of Vicksburg in the late 1950s and had served as projects chairman, publicity chairman and annual report chairman.

Active in civic and community endeavors, she had served as a Miss Mississippi Pageant hostess, chairman of the Vicksburg Miss Hospitality Pageant and president of the Book Club.

Mrs. Stahl had been a member of The Street Clinic Board of Directors, Council of Garden Clubs, Needlework Guild, Vicksburg Art Association and Arts Council and the Governor’s Board for Performing Arts. She was a member of the Catholic faith.

In addition to her parents, she was predeceased by her husband, John F. Stahl Sr.; and Donnie E. Andrews.

She is survived by a son, John Francis “Beau” Stahl Jr. (Sharon Ann) of Pensacola, Fla.; a niece, Sandra Piper of Pensacola; a great-niece, Leslie Vinet of Pensacola; and a great-nephew, Luther Latham of Orange County, Calif.

Services will be at 11 a.m. Thursday at Greenlawn Gardens Cemetery under the direction of Riles Funeral Home. Visitation will be from 9:30 a.m. Thursday until the service.

Pallbearers will be Blake Andrews, Lee Andrews, Sam Andrews, Dean Walt Andrews, Ben Nelson, Benjie Nelson, Michael Jackson and Michael Knapp.

Honorary pallbearers will be Katy Larry, Bobby Odom, Mary Edwards, Deb Mitchell, Jan Jackson and Lynn Nelson.

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to the Vicksburg Warren Humane Society, P.O. Box 820171, Vicksburg, MS 39182.