Rundell seeks third term on election board

Published 11:27 am Friday, May 11, 2012

Warren County District 4 Election Commission member John Rundell will seek a third term on the elections panel.

A qualifying petition was received by the Chancery Clerk’s Office on Wednesday, said deputy clerk Beverly Johnson. Rundell, 84, a former county purchasing agent, has held the seat since 2005.

The commission enrolls voters, assigns polling places, certifies non-party candidates, conducts all general and special elections and certifies results to the Secretary of State’s Office.

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletter

Receive daily headlines and obituaries

Rundell joins District 4 challenger Sara Carlson Dionne as the first candidates to qualify in any of Warren’s five districts for election commission. Seats on the commission come up for re-election during presidential election cycles. Qualifying ends June 4.

Petitions to run for the office are handled by the Chancery Clerk’s Office, unlike other county offices, which qualify with the circuit clerk. However, the circuit clerk verifies names on petitions filed by candidates.

The commission’s incumbents, from District 1 to 5, are Petesy Smith, Retha Summers, Elva Smith, Rundell and Lonnie Wooley.

The election commission seats accompany three other district-level races that appear on the Nov. 6 general ballot. Others include the District 2 seat on the Vicksburg Warren School District Board of Trustees, held now by Zelmarine Murphy, and a position on the state Court of Appeals.

Incumbent appellate judge Ermea J. Russell has drawn one challenger, Vicksburg attorney Ceola James. The judgeship covers appellate District 2, Place 2.

Qualifying ends Friday for the judicial races. For school board, the period begins Aug. 8 and ends Sept. 7.