Benevolent Club awards $10,000 in scholarships

Published 11:43 pm Saturday, July 7, 2012

The Vicksburg Homecoming Benevolent Club dispersed $10,000 in scholarships to 14 local students during the club’s 37th annual brunch at St. Mary’s Catholic Church center on Saturday.

The group’s reunion began Thursday night and ends this morning with a farewell worship service and breakfast at 9 a.m. at Battlefield Inn.

The recipients:

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

• Founder’s Scholarship — Antoinette Mayfield, $500

• Beaulah Lockett Memorial Scholarship ­— Naomi Short, $500

• Robert and Evelyn Smith Memorial Scholarship — Princess Spears, $900

• Granger and Lillian C. Shelley Ray Memorial Scholarship — Brandon Sherman, $900

• Hattie Knox Memorial Scholarship — Danielle King, $1,000

• St. Mary’s Catholic Church Scholarship — Marquise Holmes, $500

• Chicago Association Chapter Scholarship — Jazmyne Smith, $1,000

• Edward and Ernestine Williams Scholarship — Jasmine Judge, $500

• Derrick Stamps Jr. Memorial Athletic Scholarship — Aneshia Stamps, $900

• Harry Powell Memorial Scholarship — Robin Cooper, $500

• Mozella Flaggs Memorial Scholarship — Xavia McKinney, $500

• Vicksburg Club of Southern California James and Josephine Wallace Scholarship — Danielle White, $500

• Vicksburg Club of Southern California Scholarship — Leashleigh Anderson, $1,000

• Alfred Dillard Memorial Book Scholarship — Alexis Allen, $300

Other awards announced during the weekend:

• Humanitarian Award — Earnest L. McBride

• Lifetime Achievement Award — Courtanya T. Ferguson

• Business of the Year Award — Kiddie City Childcare and Learning City; Ruth M. Lowe, owner

The winners of the 2012 VHBC Oratorical/Essay Contest were:

• Essay: Nicholas Wright, first place; Jasmine King, second place; and Jaylen Whitaker, third place.

• Oratorical: Alexis Murrell, first place; and Marquis Goodwin, second place.