Lester Kenneth Tanksley

Published 11:07 am Friday, October 5, 2012

LORMAN — Lester Kenneth Tanksley died Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012 at his residence. He was 75.

A native and lifelong resident of the Blue Hill Community in Jefferson County, he graduated from Red Lick High School taking part in all 4-H activities and all sports. He graduated from Hinds Junior College and then graduated from Mississippi State University with an electrical engineering degree. He was employed by Southwest Mississippi Electric Power Association for 30 years, beginning as an engineer and retiring as manager of Engineering and Operations. He also was involved in cattle and tree farming. He was in the U.S. Naval Reserve for eight years and was a member of the board of directors of the Lorman Water Association for many years. He served as a colonel on the staff of Gov. Bill Waller and was an active lifetime member of the Blue Hill Methodist Church.

He was preceded in death by his parents, Lester and Molly Tanksley; and a sister, Kay T. Shipp.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

He was a loving and devoted family man who is survived by his wife of 54 years, Diane D. Tanksley of Lorman; his daughter, Debra T. Jackson and husband, Rusty, of Natchez; his son, Lester Douglas Tanksley and wife Glenda of Lorman; his sister, Fay T. Stephenson and husband Robert of Jackson’s Gap, Ala.; four grandchildren, Amy and LeeAnn Gardner of Hattiesburg, Hanna Chalk and husband Anthony of Brookhaven and Tanner Tanksley of Lorman; and two great-grandchildren.

Funeral services will be at 3 p.m. Saturday in the chapel of Glenwood Funeral Home in Port Gibson with the Revs. Curtis Gibson and Dennis Lewellyn officiating. Interment will follow at Cane Ridge Cemetery in Lorman.

Visitation will be from 1 p.m. Saturday until the hour of the service at the funeral home.

Pallbearers will be Tanner Tanksley, Burt Anders, Jimmy Wiggins, Johnny Harold Smith, Freddie Shelton, Bob Stephenson, Greg Stephenson and Lewis Shipp.

Honorary pallbearers will be Bill Hill and Charles Green.