Bulk of absentee ballots received come from voters in District 5

Published 2:14 pm Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Voter turnout Tuesday has been very good thus far according to Warren County election officials. And, if the interest in absentee voting is any indication, election officials could very well report improved voter turnout numbers by the end of the evening.

In total, 834 absentee ballots were received, with 600 estimated to have been received in the past week. Absentee voting ended Saturday.

Of those 834 ballots received, nearly 40 percent of those were filed by registered voters who live and vote in District 5. That is the district where incumbent Warren County Supervisor Richard George is being challenged by Kelle Barfield and Carl Campbell.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The next largest block of absentee ballots came from those registered voters in District 1, where incumbent Supervisor John Arnold is challenged by Ed Herring. Of the total ballots received, 25 percent of those received were from District 1 voters.

Absentee ballots from voters in District 2 accounted for 17.6 percent of the ballots received, while District 3 voters accounted for 15.3 percent of the total. Ballots received from registered voters in District 4 accounted for 13.6 percent of the ballots received.

The absentee ballots will be counted and announced once polls close tonight in Warren County at 7 p.m.

About Tim Reeves

Tim Reeves, and his wife Stephanie, are the parents of three children, Sarah Cameron, Clayton and Fin, who all attend school in the Vicksburg Warren School District. The family are members of First Baptist Church Vicksburg. Tim is involved in a number of civic and volunteer organizations including the United Way of West Central Mississippi and serves on the City of Vicksburg's Riverfront Redevelopment Committee.

email author More by Tim