Board of Supervisors elect Holland president, name interim county administrator

Published 9:06 am Monday, January 6, 2020

During the first meeting of their four-year term, the Warren County Board of Supervisors Monday elected District 4 Supervisor Dr. Jeff Holland president of the board and District 3 Supervisor Shawn Jackson vice-president.

The election of officers was among the first items of business for the new board.

Supervisors also appointed Loretta Brantley on an interim basis to serve as county administrator. Previous county administrator John Smith resigned in December.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Brantley had most recently served as the county’s comptroller.

Also, supervisors appointed Blake Teller to another term as county attorney and Larry Flowers as road manager. They also appointed John Elfer as head of the county emergency management agency and Gerald Briggs as county fire coordinator.

In a 4-1 vote, supervisors decided to make a change at county engineer by appointing Keith O’Keefe from Neel-Schaffer Engineering Services.

The decision moves the county away from long-time county engineer John McKee and Stantec Engineering.

District 2 Supervisor William Banks was the lone dissenting vote.

The board also asked Brian Robbins, with Stantec Engineering, to work a transition of projects between Stantec and O’Keefe and any engineering firms that may take over projects.

About Tim Reeves

Tim Reeves, and his wife Stephanie, are the parents of three children, Sarah Cameron, Clayton and Fin, who all attend school in the Vicksburg Warren School District. The family are members of First Baptist Church Vicksburg. Tim is involved in a number of civic and volunteer organizations including the United Way of West Central Mississippi and serves on the City of Vicksburg's Riverfront Redevelopment Committee.

email author More by Tim