• 54°

Delta Council honors eight Warren County students

For 16 years, Delta Council has bestowed special honor upon two exemplary students from each of the high schools throughout the 19-county Mississippi Delta Region, including public, parochial and private schools, at the Delta Council Annual Meeting. Students are selected by school administrators based on leadership, extra-curricular, scholastic and community service.

A $2,500 scholarship is awarded to the top Delta Honor Graduate, as selected by higher education officials in the Delta, to help defray tuition and expenses as the student’s college of choice sees fit.

Due to COVID-19, Delta Council is postponing the annual meeting. This marks only the third time in over eight decades the meeting has been altered — the first one was during World War II, the second was during the Flood of 2011, and now because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Delta Council is grateful to recognize these special young men and women throughout the Delta,” said Tom Gresham of Indianola, president of Delta Council. “Our message to these young people is to continue your high achievements in education and leadership by going to college, but please come home to Mississippi and the Delta to help us continue to make our communities better.”

As a result of Delta Council Day being postponed until after the onset of the Fall school semester, the Salute to Delta Honor Graduates ceremony has been canceled for 2020, but the students’ honors and great achievements have not been overlooked by Delta Council staff and supporters. Delta Honor Graduates will receive a certificate signed by Gov. Tate Reeves and Delta Council President Tom Gresham certifying that each student is celebrated as a Delta Honor Graduate of 2020. Each student will also be invited to and recognized at the Fall meeting of 2020.

The recipient of the $2,500 scholarship will be announced soon. The list of Warren County students who were honored along with their respective high schools is below:

  • Elaina BaileyWarren Central High 
  • Kameren BattyVicksburg High 
  • Anna Ware BrownSt. Aloysius High School
  • Khya GainesVicksburg High 
  • Ian  GordonWarren Central High 
  • Madison HendersonPorter’s Chapel Academy
  • Elizabeth KeenSt. Aloysius High School
  • Storey KirklinPorter’s Chapel Academy

About Catherine Hadaway

Catherine Hadaway, as The Vicksburg Post’s publisher, oversees the business operations of the newspaper. She is a native of Tuscaloosa, Ala. and is a graduate of Rhodes College in Memphis where she earned bachelor’s degrees in Business and Religion. She is a Director of Boone Newspapers, Inc., the family company that owns The Post. Catherine comes from a long line of newspaper publishers, starting with her grandfather, Buford Boone, who served as publisher of The Tuscaloosa News and earned journalism's highest honor when he won the Pulitzer Prize in 1957 for his editorial titled "What a Price for Peace." Catherine is a member of The Rotary Club of Vicksburg, Vicksburg Young Professionals, The Heritage Guild and The Vicksburg Warren County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

email author More by Catherine